Long time no knit?

Sorry for the long, deafening silence. After handing in the dissertation last September I decided to take a break from yarn-bombing. It was only supposed to be a short break of a month or two but in that time I got a bit bogged down (and very carried away) with a looooong list of other projects I had been wanting to complete. Pair that with the dark, damp mornings and an increasing work load (I’m now on the PhD program having successfully completed the masters) and you didn’t have someone excited about going yarn bombing. Sorry! The sun is back again now though and my brightly coloured wool stash has been re-discovered ready for some more fun around Bristol. There are 2 projects currently in progress so there won’t be long to wait.

Since September I’ve crocheted 3 hats, 4 scarfs, a flower broach and a few little gifts for people. I also managed to complete a huge cross-stitch piece which has been in progress since 2008 and gave it to my Mum for Christmas. I’ve been attending a newly-founded weekly knitting group (collaborative yarn bomb to follow…?) and asked to write a few bits and pieces on the subject. See Threadhead Mag for one piece I did with the lovely Mistress of Monsters last November. Probably the most exciting thing to come out of the MSc project so far was getting the opportunity to present my research findings to other academics at the Association of American Geographers Annual Meeting in New York last month. Plenty of fascinating conversations followed this and hopefully a paper is to follow as well! For anyone interested in the geographies of craft and crafting, my session organisers have a craft geography blog which is well worth a visit too. So although I’ve been quiet I have definitely been keeping busy! I’m back to bombing and blogging again now though so keep your eyes peeled for some new street decoration coming soon!

Leave a Reply

