Stop, look, listen, knit!

This yarn bomb has been made and ready to go for about a month now! It features the work of three different people and uses a combination of knitting and crochet with a few buttons thrown in for good measure! I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out, it was my first attempt at doing ‘bobbly’ crochet and also features the first piece of knitting my housemate made back in May! This piece uses up all out ‘practice squares’, although a few of them were made to made especially for it to make it wide enough for the pole.

This was my second attempt at putting the work up. From the outset I had designed the piece to be fitted on the pedestrian crossing island at the top of Park Street, opposite Brown’s on the Triangle. This is a really busy point and I often find myself waiting there for ages to cross the road and I thought it would be nice to give the other pedestrians something to look at whilst they were waiting. I went down on my own earlier in the week to do it but chickened out when I arrived at 6:40am only to find loads of people walking to work, driving around, emptying the bins etc. This time I dragged a friend out of bed in order to get there for 6am and put it up unnoticed. It was still busier than we expected, but no-one seemed to care or pay much attention to us. Besides, it was still quite dark when we did it! Went back a few hours later to get these photos and glad to find it still there.

Leave a Reply

